Search Site

This search form uses an instant search feature. As you type, search results will appear automatically below the search field. When you've entered you desired search terms use tab to navigate through the available results and hit enter to open the selected page or document.
Union County Math Competition Winners Announced
Union County Math Competition Winners Announced
El Dorado School District/El Dorado Education Foundation
Tuesday, January 30, 2018

A total of 138 students from all schools in the Union County competed in the 6th annual Martha Deichler Union County Math Contest, held Saturday, January 20, at El Dorado High School (EHS).  

Co-sponsors Bill Deichler and John Deichler were on hand to cheer on students and award medals at the recognition ceremony. The competition is named in honor of Bill Deichler’s mother and John Deichler’s grandmother, who was a math teacher.

The contest continues to increase in numbers. Students from EHS, Barton Junior High School, Junction City High School, Smackover High School, and Strong/Huttig competed for 1st, 2nd, and 3rd place gold, silver, and bronze medals; plus cash awards. The contest serves as a warmup for the ACTM (Arkansas Council for Teachers of Mathematics) regional competition, to take place on March 3, at SAU (Southern Arkansas University) in Magnolia. In that program, students from the top three placements automatically will qualify for state competition, and other high scores also may qualify.

Competition was held in nine categories: 7th grade math, 8th grade math, Algebra I, Geometry, Algebra II, Pre-Calculus/Trigonometry, Statistics, Calculus I, and Calculus II. 

This year’s medal winners were:

7th grade math: 1st place – J.R. Stipp-Bethune of Barton, 2nd place – Levi Shaffer of Barton, and 3rd place – Mason Halstead of Barton.

8th grade math: 1st place – Danica West of Barton, 2nd place – Nehemiah Daniels of Strong/Huttig, and 3rd place – Benny Williams of Barton.

Algebra I: 1st place – Tanecia Boone of EHS, 2nd place – Grace Reed of Barton, and 3rd place – Bella Long of EHS.

Geometry: 1st place – Caleb Watson of Smackover/Norphlet, 2nd place – Alec Gatewood of Smackover/Norphlet, and 3rd place – Alvin Gonzales of EHS.

Algebra II: 1st place – Caleb Huckabee of Smackover/Norphlet, 2nd place – Scott Ratchford of EHS, and 3rd place – Zander Jones of EHS.

Pre-Cal/Trig: 1st place – Ty McCurry of Smackover/Norphlet, 2nd place – Isaac Woollen of Smackover/Norphlet, and 3rd place – Mary-Claire Wilcox of Smackover/Norphlet.

Statistics: 1st place – Kayleigh Yeager of Smackover/Norphlet, 2nd place – Hannal Freeman of Smackover/Norphlet, and 3rd place – Jordan Price of Smackover/Norphlet.

Calculus I: 1st place – Derek Jobe of El Dorado, 2nd place – Taegeun Ahn of El Dorado, and 3rd place – Camden Sandfor of El Dorado.

Calculus II: 1st place – Camila Schrader of El Dorado, 2nd place – Riley McAdams of El Dorado, and 3rd place – Kyle Jorden of El Dorado.

Competitors from Barton included: Devin Berry, Andrew Clawson, Avrey Davison, DaNeija Dismuke, Presley Givens, Aleyah Golden, Cody Goodman, Sincere Hall, Cornelius Henry, Zynisha Hill, Salonge James, Margaret Meyer, Jacobi Montgomery, Shaun Shults, Alijah Staples, Makaylen Swint. and Grayson Temple.  

Competitors from El Dorado High School (EHS): Sophia Anreder, Hanzala Ali, Amani Amos, Mir Ali, Alex Boone, Anastasia Brock, Cielo Cervantes, Dave Davison, Trenton Dismuke, Josie Dumas, Jalen Evans, Caitlin Glancey, Sidney Gonzalez, Kenneth Hall, Micah Haney, Samantha Hargett, Sumer Haynie, Ian Hernandez, Tykeonce Hicks, Emily Huddleston, Maria Jimenez, J'Nayzia King, Cameron Kuhlmann, Taylor Mayo, Sophia Meyer, Taylor Nelson, Viet Quang Nguyen, Cuashaundra Owens, Passamon Phetko, Cameron Poole, Aidan Price, Payton Scarlett, Austin Scott, Jansen Shaffer, Alyzea Smith, Tiyanna Stewart, Kaylee Vickery, Hunter Waters, Coleigh White, Dominique Williams, and Dylan Wilson,

Competitors from Junction City: Katelynn Jones, Hannah Martindale, Keena Murray, Alexis Peterson, and Destiny Pyle.

Competitors from Parkers Chapel: Beth Brakeman, Mason Dougan, Spencer Frisby, Wyatt New, Daniel Ramirez, and Payton Utley. 

Competitors from Smackover/Norphlet: Harley Ainsworth, Kennedy Briggs, Kendyl Burns, Alex Burris, Laynie Clark, Nichole Davis, Robert Dixon, Braden Doherty, Cauy Easley, Olivia Edney, Logan Eiland, Priscila Espinosa, Rett Gatewood, Katelynn Gifford, Karli Goocher, Allison Paige Goodwin, Taylor Harris, Lainey Holland, Shatara Jones, Kalin Key, Kendall Key, Brady Lavoie, Blakely Lewis, Vanessa Lofton, William Mitchell, Megan Mullin, William Newton, Noel Pietranski, Trevor Pyron, Lillian Reyes, Alex Savage, Micah Smith, Chloe Stafford, Chloe Stevens, and Makayla Toney.

Competitors from Strong/Huttig: Holly Baker, Kasey Graves, Daniel Hines, Kiley Lum, Natalie Pace, DaNelia Riley, and Nakya Riley. 

Participating teachers included: Shelly Childers, Chae Coan, Alisa Davis, Chris Davis, John Davis, Karen Greer, Aimee Harter, Alexis King, Bobbie McClellan, Amber Miller, Tonya Sims, Derrill Smith, Debra Spooner, John Thompson, and Bethany Yates.